Pilot · checked 28 Sep 2026
Who owns the tech you use every day? Find Australian-owned options first, with honest ratings and a source for every claim.
Open any provider and tap “Add to my list” to build a shortlist. It stays on this device.
Australian: Australian-owned and controlled, data held in Australia. For ASX-listed companies we look for Australian headquarters and no controlling foreign shareholder. We have not audited any share register.
Australian with caveats: Australian-founded or based, but with a material catch such as large foreign shareholders, a foreign parent company, offshore storage or ownership we could not confirm.
International (non-US): listed only where there is no comparable Australian option, or the overseas one is clearly better. Never US-owned or US-hosted.
Researched, not listed: well-known services we checked and left out, usually because they are US-owned or foreign-owned and an Australian option exists.
Servers in Sydney are not enough on their own. A US-parented company, or a service on a US cloud, can be reachable by US law such as the CLOUD Act. We record owner, headquarters and data location separately.
Australian hosting is not a shield from Australian law. Telecommunications providers must keep a set of telecommunications data for at least two years (Home Affairs). The Assistance and Access Act 2018 lets agencies request help from providers that supply communications services in Australia, including overseas companies (Home Affairs factsheet). Keeping data onshore reduces exposure to foreign law. It does not remove exposure to Australian law.
Privacy Act (sources dated 12 Jun and 25 Sep 2026): first-tranche reforms became law in December 2024. The $3 million small business exemption has not been repealed, and tranche 2 was not yet a Bill as at June 2026. A small provider may therefore not be bound by the Australian Privacy Principles.
We rate ownership and data location. We do not rate price, product quality or security record. Where the only source is a company’s own website, the listing says “company statement”.
Prices are in Australian dollars unless marked otherwise. We mark other currencies explicitly, such as “US$”, where a source only reported the amount that way.
No providers match. Try a different search or filter.
Found during research but not rated yet. Each has one open question to resolve first.
Velocity Host Pty Ltd (ABN 18 609 902 776), Bondi Junction, NSW. Its company overview says it is “Australian owned and operated” and that it owns and operates its own infrastructure across multiple data centres. It offers managed Nextcloud.
Open: which data centre holds the Nextcloud data and who operates it, plus pricing. The pages we could read did not state these, so we have not rated it.
Streaming service of Seven West Media, which became a subsidiary of Southern Cross Media Group when their merger completed on 7 January 2026. Wikipedia does not state who owns 7plus after the merger.
Open: who the shareholders of the merged group are, and whether any foreign holder is significant. Not rated until we have checked.
Property portal described in a January 2023 trade article as an “industry-owned portal”. The article did not name the owners, the headquarters or the investors.
Open: who owns it today and where it is based. It could be the Australian alternative the Property category is missing.
Swiss company. Adfinis IT Australia Pty Ltd incorporated 2020, Brisbane. Still operating in 2026, offering managed Nextcloud through a global “follow-the-sun” support model spanning Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, Australia, New Zealand and Egypt.
Open: whether Australian customer data is held only in Australia, or as part of the wider international delivery model. We could not confirm this on the sources we checked.
Encrypted video conferencing from the Proton group, launched publicly on 31 March 2026 and built with the open-source LiveKit toolkit, according to Wikipedia.
Open: whether an Australian-owned video meeting service exists to list first, and where Meet calls are hosted. Not rated until we have checked.
Private AI assistant from the Proton group, launched in July 2025 and operated from data centres in Germany and Norway. Proton says user data is not used to train AI models.
Open: whether an Australian-owned AI assistant exists to list first, and how Lumo’s privacy claims hold up beyond the company’s own statements. Not rated until we have checked.